Gamification

20 ways to gamify your class

A quick way to start a conversation is by asking someone about their favorite game. Whether it’s the latest video game craze (Fornite takes the cake there), a beloved childhood board game or the local sports team they never miss watching, games are an engaging topic.

As adults we love games. And so do our students.

Adding elements of gameplay in the classroom increases engagement. Throw in opportunities for students to level up, earn badges and points using teamwork in a friendly competition and watch their motivation skyrocket.

Gamification can be as simple as adding a Kahoot to the end of a unit or as complex as #QRBreakIn, an exciting game-based approach to centers.

During the weekly #DitchBook Twitter chat (Thursdays at 7 p.m. PST / 8 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. CST / 10 p.m. EST), we discussed gamification in the classroom. The conversation included ideas for using gameplay to create experiences that are different, innovative, tech-laden, creative and hands-on.

Below you will find 20 ways to gamify your class. Educators shared ideas along with links to resources so that you can begin using gamification in your classroom right away! Be sure to click on ALL of the blue links for quick access to all of the tools and templates!

Check out this Wakelet to see the whole discussion along with this Padlet full of gamification resources crowdsourced by the #Ditchbook community.

20 ways to gamify your class

11. A simple but effective way to add a little competition into Google Classroom is to let them reply to one another and choose their favorite response.

16. Why keep scavenger hunts confined to school grounds? With Google Earth or Nearpod, students can literally explore the entire globe!

How do you feel about game-based learning? How have you used it in class? Which of these ideas could you start using? Leave your ideas in a comment below!

Want to get in on the next #DitchBook Twitter chat?

Having trouble? Still unclear on how a Twitter chat works? Feel free to tweet to these #DitchBook ambassadors and they’ll help — Karly Moura @karlymouraSean Fahey @seanjfaheySandy Otto @sandyrottoRachel Marker @rachelmarkerEvan Mosier @emosier3Mandi Tolen @TTmomTTCraig Klement @craigklementTara Martin @taramartineduKrista Harmsworth @zonie71Anne Kamper @annekamperRayna Freedman @rlfreedmLance McClard @drmcclardStephanie DeMichele @sdemichele or David Platt @herrplatt!

Polaroid Notes: Using Google Slides to create dynamic notes in an instant!

Previous article

8 YouTube-inspired classroom video ideas

Next article

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *